Reviews

Stewarts_House_2018_0728.JPG
 

Honeymoon!!

We chose Stewart House based on reviews and location. We had originally picked a spot in Woodstock but after further research, we realized it probably wasn't going to be a great fit. I'm so happy that we cancelled that stay and booked Stewart House!! We were greeted warmly by Audrey (hope I spelled that correctly) and shown our room. We also had a chance to meet one of the owners on our way up to our room. She was very friendly and congratulated us on our recent wedding! The room was amazing! We stayed in room 4 and had a view of the Hudson! Room was well appointed, bed was VERY comfortable! We had dinner in the tavern and were surprised with a bottle of champagne! Food was fantastic and the ambiance was perfect! This time we met the other owner who came over to our table and introduced himself. We could not be any happier with our stay and encourage anyone who's looking at this location to book it immediately! We are looking forward to going back. The town is small but super cute and had some amazing restaurants. It's also close to the Catskills for hiking.

Reviewed by Resort822321

Nov 1, 2018

 

Thanks to Hudson Valley 360 and Dan Zuckerman for the recent write up.

https://www.hudsonvalley360.com/article/historic-athens-inn-introduce-new-chef?wallit_nosession=1

By Daniel Z Columbia-Greene Media

October 29, 2018

 

Thanks to the Times Union and Steve Barnes for this nice article!

https://blog.timesunion.com/tablehopping/60816/check-out-tavern-menu-for-stewart-house/

By Steve B on October 29, 2018

 

Great place to stop on a Saturday

We had dinner at the Stewart House this afternoon. Great pate plate, hummus, and burger. The burger in particular was very well made. We look forward to trying out the rest of the menu. The service and the ambiance are outstanding. This is a great place to visit.

Reviewed by John G

Oct 27, 2018

 

Hands down best meal on both sides of the river. The atmosphere is classy, cozy with meticulously curated decor. Bravo.

Reviewed by Whitney P

Oct. 25, 2018

 

CHARMED, CLEAN, PERFECT IN EVERY WAY! The owners rock, a family operation. They want only to make sure your stay is as pleasant as possible. The property is amazing. It fronts the Hudson River. Tap Lon for his wealth of paternal life insights. PRICELESS! Lois is giving and desires only that guests be contented.Brandon, Kate and Audrey and amazing staff will tend to your every need.

Reviewed by Chris P 

Oct 15, 2018

 

Charming and lovely

My friend and I spent a night here on a road trip up to the Catskills. We had a lovely time; the rooms are beautiful and the house is located across from a bar and restaurant which happened to have a fantastic show going on when we arrived, so we spent the evening dance under the stars to live music before coming back to sleep in our beautiful room. Definitely recommend!

Reviewed by Amanda A

Oct 8, 2018

 

The hotel is super sexy, rock n' roll chic meets Victorian dream remodel project.

This space is such a hidden gem on the other side of Hudson. The outdoor bar and restaurant is fun on the weekends and of course they are always booking amazing music, thanks to the owner's history and connections in the business. This is photo shoot worthy backdrops in the rooms and downstairs spaces. If you were shooting a film or needed an amazing destination, this place would be great to take over the space.

Reviewed by rachelevine16

Sep 24, 2018

 

Most beautiful B&B Room Ever!!!

After reading trip advisor reviews, we knew we would find the innkeeper at the The River, their outdoor restaurant across the street from the Stewart House. We had a great lunch (steamed clams, kielbasa and brushetta) there while enjoying the swaying willow trees, the lake and the lively atmosphere. Innkeeper, Kim (and hostess at The River) walked us across the street to the Inn to Room #8....most beautiful and well appointed B&B room we have ever stayed in!!!! Lovingly restored, beautiful view of the river, amazing tub, comfy bed, robes, slippers, wet bar (very unique) incredible lighting, upscale toiletries and so much more!! The Stewart house had a full make over in 2018, minimal and beautiful. A comfy place, not fussy and overbearing. Staff friendly and very accomodating. Loved the little communal breakfast on the second floor. Have never had such amazing homemade granola before and the yogurt to die for. They did everything right. Can't wait to return!!

Reviewed by donnamessina6

Sep 4, 2018

 

Thanks so much for your attentive service, perfect entertainment, and wonderful weather and setting for my husband's birthday party. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Reviewed by Carol H

Aug 18, 2018

 

Charming, Lovely Restored Hotel

My boyfriend and I stayed a long weekend in August, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owners have done a wonderful job modernizing (great bath/bedroom fixtures, AC, custom made herbal toiletries, Sferra robes, communal breakfast area, etc...) while keeping a contemporary rustic character of the original hotel from the 1800's. The staff (Kim and Kayla) were friendly and unobtrusive. We stayed in Room 4 with a river front view, it was charming, large, comfy, quiet, and perfect as home base for a weekend getaway from NYC. There's a lively riverfront grill, which had live music, great drinks and was host to a weekly summer live music festival. It's steps to a ferry or a 15 min drive to busier Hudson, and nearby Catskills, Kaaterskill falls, etc...Def try Bonfiglio & Sons up the street for breakfast or lunch when you stay. Thoroughly recommend, enjoy!

Reviewed by Steph T

Aug 13, 2018

 

Beautifully restored Hotel from the 1800's

This amazing location, surrounded, in Athens, by so much interesting architecture from different periods of American history dating from the birth of our country, is a reminder of the trade and commerce generated by the mighty Hudson River. All different types of watercraft, from tankers to jet skis can be viewed from the comfort of a table by "The River" (Bar & Grill) or on a bench or a blanket on an adjacent, well groomed riverside park. Enchanting rooms with authentic period styling including all the amenities you'd expect at any 5 Star Hotel! Unforgettable Experience!

Reviewed by JamesD2013

Aug 6, 2018

 

Just what it should be  

I stayed at Stewart House itโ€™s opening weekendโ€”Newly renovated, new owners. My room was spacious and comfy. Bath was great. Like everywhere in the mid Valley thereโ€™s a bit of a hipster vibe but itโ€™s also sophisticated in good ways. Wonderful patio restaurant across the street is part of the scene.

Reviewed by rebeccahZ7544VQ.   

May 31, 2018